Antico Edition AB17
Antico Baroque
Home Ordering Catalogue Search for titles Contact
Previous volume Next volume List of editions in this series
Title: Seven full anthems for four voices AB17 cover
Composer: Thomas Wilson
Editor: Ian Payne
Reference: AB17
Price (GBP): 3.50
Description: Born early in 1618, Thomas Wilson was a chorister at Durham cathedral between about 1630 and 1634. In February 1635 John Cosin, one of the prebendaries of the cathedral, moved to Cambridge to become master of Peterhouse, and he took the ex-chorister with him to serve in the choir which he intended to create to enhance the ‘beauty of holiness’ of college worship. Thus Wilson became organist of Peterhouse while still only in his late teens, and played a major role in the remarkable musical flowering that took place in the college during the next half-dozen years. As a composer he made a significant contribution to the chapel’s repertory, although his music does show rather unusual technical limitations. The seven anthems in this volume are: Almighty God, which madest thy blessed son; Behold, how good and joyful a thing it is; Behold, now praise the Lord; Blessed is the man that feareth the Lord; Holy, holy, holy, Lord God of Sabaoth; Thy mercy, O Lord, reacheth unto the heavens; Turn thy face from my sins. All are transposed here for SATB, and all except Behold, now praise the Lord include editorial recompositions of missing voices. iv + 18 pages. ISMN 979-0-57039-176-9.

Sample page(s)

Home Ordering Catalogue Search for titles Contact

Please contact us if you have any questions or comments about this site.
© 2000– Antico Edition. All rights reserved. Errors and omissions excepted.