Antico Edition RCM81
Renaissance Church Music
Home Ordering Catalogue Search for titles Contact
Previous volume Next volume List of editions in this series
Title: Latin and English church music for four voices RCM81 cover
Composer: Thomas Knyght
Editor: Nick Sandon
Reference: RCM81
Price (GBP): 6.50
Description: Thomas Knyght was a vicar-choral and later also organist and choirmaster at Salisbury Cathedral from the mid-1520s to the later 1540s. This volume includes all the four-part church music bearing his name: a votive antiphon Sancta Maria virgo, the processional antiphon Christus resurgens for Easter Sunday, a setting of the Lady-Mass Alleluia Obtine sacris precibus, and an English Magnificat and Nunc dimittis; also included are an anonymous setting of the Nunc dimittis associated with his Magnificat in one source, and a poem ascribed to ‘Master Knyght’. The Latin settings are similar to his five-part Mass Libera nos (already published by Antico Edition as RCM140) in their pre-Reformation style: based on plainchant cantus firmi, ornate and melismatic, rhythmically vigorous and contrapuntally resourceful, with a taste for quite spicy dissonance. The English settings are simpler in style, reflecting the musical taste of the early Anglican church, but far from bland. He was clearly a considerable composer. For four voices, small choir or soloists: SATB (Alleluia Obtine), ATBarB (Sancta Maria), TTBarB (Christus resurgens, Magnificat and Nunc dimittis). x + 24 pages. ISMN 979-0-57039-205-6.

Sample page(s)

Home Ordering Catalogue Search for titles Contact

Please contact us if you have any questions or comments about this site.
© 2000– Antico Edition. All rights reserved. Errors and omissions excepted.